In 1995, a brand new Cameron Junior High School building opened its doors to the sixth, seventh and eighth grade students of our community. The new school building, which was built adjacent to the Cameron Elementary School, was the first of many new buildings erected by the Cameron ISD. It is located on the historic Batte property on East 22nd Street.
However, the dedication of this new building was not the beginning of this school's illustrious history. For many years, Cameron's middle school aged students attended six through eighth grades in the Ada Henderson Elementary School on the Yoe High School Campus.
During integration, the Junior High Classes were moved to the O. J. Thomas Campus on West 6th Street. The O. J Thomas High School was once the proud home of Cameron's African American student body. It was named for famed Educator Oscar John Thomas, a long time principal and teacher at the school.
Regardless of its name or location, students at Cameron's Junior High School share a rich history and a strong sense of pride in their educational facility. Since 1938, Cameronites have seen the campus' hallways filled with OJT Bulldogs, which gave way in the 1970's to the mighty Yoe-Yoes, and now the modern-day CJH Young Yoemen!